The Reprisal – Part 4

Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3

Kat was skeptical of his plan. There was no way an “accessory” would have the kind of information they needed to arrest Willie Brown. But Ethan convinced her that it was a good idea. Layla had access to Willie’s inner sanctum, and she may be able to give them names of other people who were willing to talk. Kat wasn’t even sure Layla would talk, but Ethan had a feeling that she would. One thing Kat had learned through the years that when Ethan got a feeling you had better go with it.

Ethan found out where Layla lived and had a stake out established down the street. The stake out didn’t give him much new information. He already knew that each “accessory” had a bodyguard. This insured their safety and their inability to see other men. It was the life of a prisoner in a prison of luxury.

Layla, like the other “accessories” lived in an upscale condo decorated to her own liking. That information was not important. Ethan needed the stake out team to find a way for him to get to her. He had plans running through his head until they told him who her bodyguard was.

He went by the name of Ricco, and he was one of Ethan’s secret friends. Ricco had helped Ethan find lost souls a couple of times. Ethan hated to lie to Ethan, but there was no other way. He contacted Ricco and said he was looking for a red-head named Leslie. He needed to talk to Layla. The next day he was driving to her condo.

Ricco gave Ethan instructions for a back way into the building. Ricco was Ethan’s friend, but there may be others who were watching that were not. Ethan had always appreciated the risk that Ricco and others took to help him, and today he was taking a risk too.

As he entered the building from an alley, Ethan played all of the scenarios in his head. What if someone else saw him? What if Layla wouldn’t talk? What if she told Ricco what he was really there for? As he walked toward Ricco sitting outside her door Ethan had no idea if he would ever make it out of this building alive.

Ricco motioned for Ethan to stay outside while he went inside to see if Layla was ready. In a few minutes, Ricco opened the door and let him in. As the door closed behind him, Ethan looked around the spacious living room. It was ornately decorated with large pillows covering the oriental rug. A huge couch set off to one side, and a painting hung over the mantle. Ethan thought about Sarah’s paintings as he looked at it. Everything was in the room that he expected except for one. Layla was not there.

“Hello.”

“Have a seat. I’ll be right out.”

Ethan sat on the couch and noticed he could see onto the deck. He also noticed that he could see into the bedroom. There was a large canopy bed with pillows, but that’s not what caught his eye. Through a mirror he could see the young blonde in her vanity. She wore nothing but a pair of thong panties and a t-shirt that showed her mid drift.

He knew he should turn away, but he couldn’t. She had a perfect body and flawless skin. Her ass was lovely, and it was accentuated by the rose tattoo above it. He watched as she grabbed a pair of cut-off denim shorts and pulled them on. When she got the shorts to her hips Layla had to wiggle her ass a little to get them up.

It was a beautiful sight. When she turned to walk into the living room Ethan quickly turned his head, but he realized that was dumb. She knew he was watching the whole time.

When Layla walked in wearing her shorts and small t-shirt Ethan saw up close what beauty really was. He remembered thinking in the Crossroads that she would look good walking into any upscale restaurant in the city. But that was nothing. With her long hair in a ponytail, barefoot and no make up, Ethan could see her natural beauty. He knew he had to keep focused on why he was here. The conversation would have to be handled carefully. He rose to shake her hand.

“Hi. I’m Ethan Cord.”

“I know who you are. I’ve seen you at the Crossroads. You are the guy who looks for runaways. Ricco says you want my help.”

“That’s true. I was hoping you might have some information for me. I’m looking for…”

“Some red haired girl named Leslie. Man, I don’t think I can help you. Girls change their names and dye their hair. I saw you on Oprah one time talking about how you find people. I don’t know how you do it. I don’t even know where I am half the time.”

“You mean your real name is not Layla?”

“Oh. So you are a smart ass cop. Anyway, I don’t know this Leslie girl, but if I hear anything I’ll let you know.”

“Well, actually I’m not looking for her. I’m looking for you.”

“Me? Mister you’ve come to the wrong place. I’m not missing, and I’m not a runaway.”

“I know, but you may have something I want.”

“Excuse me. Look fucker, I’m not one of Willie’s whores. I don’t work the streets, and I damn sure don’t fuck cops. You must have some really big balls to try to fuck me. Do you know what Willie will do to you?”

That went well. With that she jumped up and headed to the door to get Ricco.

“Hold on. You don’t understand. I’m not here to try to fuck you. I need some information, and I thought you might be able to help.”

He grabbed her arm, and she turned around.

“What ever it is you want hurry up and say it. I want you out of here.”

This was it. He had to tell her the truth. This time if she went after Ricco there would be hell to pay.

“I’m working on a different kind of investigation. I’m trying to connect Willie to criminal activities in the city. To do that I need someone on the inside who will be willing to talk. I thought maybe you could help.”

Layla stood there stunned. Ethan didn’t know if she would stand there or go for Ricco. She stood there.

“Are you out of your fucking mind? You want me to give you inside information about Willie. What in the hell makes you think I would turn on Willie? He took me off the street and now I live in a big fucking condo. I have fancy clothes. Jewelry. Everything I could ever want. What the fuck do you have except for that dumb fucking look on your face?”

“I have a way for you to get out.”

“Get out? What makes you think I want to get out?”

Ethan grabbed her arm.

“I see your bruises have healed.”

Layla sat on the couch.

“Oh. I see. You think just because Willie and I got into an argument at the Crossroads that I will betray him.”

“I would say that was a little more than an argument.”

“What that was – was none of your damn business. They shouldn’t even let you in there, and Ricco damn sure should’ve never let you in here.”

“Look. I know you have all of the material things you want, and I know Willie takes care of you. But do you really think a man who can beat the hell out of you in front of a bunch of people really cares about you? What do you think is going to happen when Willie finds a new woman? You know exactly what will happen. You will be back on the streets. Let me help you. I can get you out of here and set you up anywhere you want to be. You can have a new start. New name. Hell, you don’t go by your real name now. Another name wouldn’t be hard.”

Ethan grabbed her face in his hands and looked in her eyes.

“I can save you.”

When Ethan pulled away Layla just sat there stunned. He didn’t know what she was thinking, but he knew what he was thinking. She had the softest and smoothest skin he had ever touched. And her eyes…he had to focus. This was an important time. They sat there for a long time not saying a word. With her eyes watering and her voice quivering Layla spoke.

“It’s not that easy. Willie owns me.”

Ethan thought about asking what that meant, but he already knew.

“If you let me help you nobody will own you ever again.”

Layla didn’t look at him or move. He had gotten to her, and now she needed time to think. He pulled a card out of his billfold and laid it on the table.

“If you need to talk to me you can reach me at that number.”

With that Ethan got up and left. When he got to his car he realized how much he was sweating. He had gotten out of the building alive. But that was not why he was sweating. He had just been alone in a room with one of the most beautiful women he had ever seen.

Days passed, and all Ethan heard was Kat telling him how dumb his plan was.

“I told you the little bitch wouldn’t talk. I can’t believe a man as smart as you even came up with an idea like that. Not only is she not going to talk to us but she is also going to tell Willie what we were trying to do. Do you know what that means?”

Ethan knew.

“It means that this investigation is fucked before it ever gets started. It means that you will never be welcome in their world again. And that means you are going to have a hell of a time finding any runaways down there. Fuck me running, Ethan.”

Ethan was worried about it too. As the days passed, he came to believe that he had ruined the entire investigation. He spent most time in his office at home because Kat told him to take a few days off. He wasn’t sure if she thought he needed a break or just wanted him out of his sight. Then one day as he was reading a book about the Battle of Little Big Horn his cell phone rang. Without really looking at it Ethan picked it up.

“Ethan Cord”

“How are you going to protect me?”

“Layla? Where are you?”

“Before I agree to talk to you I need to know how you plan on protecting me.”

“I have a safe house. It’s gated. I promise you that no one will be able to get to you.”

“At eight o’clock I’m going to send Ricco on an errand. Be in the alley behind the building.”

“Eight o’clock. I’ll be there.”

“Don’t come with anybody else.”

She hung up. Layla had decided to cooperate. Ethan looked through his contacts to call Kat then thought better of it. She was so mad at him that she might make him take someone just to ensure he didn’t fuck it up. No, he would call her after he had Layla in a safe place.

11 Responses to “The Reprisal – Part 4”

  1. dryfly2005 Says:

    I just came across your blog a couple of weeks ago, and really enjoy your writing, this story has me hooked.

  2. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part […]

  3. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part […]

  4. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part […]

  5. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part […]

  6. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part […]

  7. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part […]

  8. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part […]

  9. […] 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part […]

Leave a Reply

